Pledge Request: Fax Your TD
John Handelaar is looking for some people to support his efforts to develop an Irish equivalent of the hugely successful UK site WriteToThem.com for contacting UK politicians. The Irish version of the site would allow people to contact their councillors, TDs and MEPs for free. If you are interested in helping out, visit www.pledgebank.com/faxyourtd BEFORE 1ST FEBRUARY.
Feckoff.netMemory Stick users beware! (7.2.2006, 17:17 UTC)
If you plan to get yourself - or already have - a cheap Sony memory stuck pro duo from eBay for your PSP, phone, camera or whatever, beware. Unscrupulous bastards are flooding eBay with poor quality fakes that appear to be packing it in after a couple of months use. Most of the fakes are 1 and 2GB models. This handy link shows you how to determine whether or not your memory stick is a fake. (via)
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netThe Shield (7.2.2006, 11:20 UTC)
Just watched episodes 3 and 4 of season 5 of The Shield last night. It is as intense as ever, excellent TV. The last scene of episode 4 had me grinning ear to ear. I won’t say why here as it’d be a spoiler but you’ll see why if you watch it.
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netTrackmania Nations ESWC (4.2.2006, 16:26 UTC)
French software devs Nadeo have released the latest in their series of Trackmania games - Trackmania Nations ESWC - a free version of Trackmania designed for competitive play in the e-Sports World Cup. I couldn’t give a flying fuck about the ESWC, but this game is fun. Existing Trackmania players should enjoy it, and its free nature is attracting a lot of new blood to the game. For those who don’t know, Trackmania is an arcadey racing game, involving puzzles, ridiculous stunts and in...
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netWoo! (2.2.2006, 21:20 UTC)
This site had its 20,000th visitor at some stage today, woo!
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netThe IT Crowd (2.2.2006, 17:24 UTC)
Fans of Father Ted, Black Books and plenty of other quality television programmes, c’mere. Graham Linehan (co-writer of both of the aforementioned shows) has a new show on Channel 4, called The IT Crowd. Best of all, the first two episodes are now available to download from the official site. They are Windows Media format, and use the MMS streaming protocol, but you can easily download them to your desktop if you replace mms:// in the URL with http:// Each episode weighs in at around 65M...
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netThe Sound of Silence (31.1.2006, 23:16 UTC)
I haven’t posted here in the last few days for several reasons, including in no particular order: UTV being skinflint tight-arses and charging me through the arse for breaking their stupidly low traffic cap. Being busy as fuck in work. Breaking my balls in the gym. Not literally, you filthy bastards. Spending too much of the little available free time playing games (Mostly Tie Fighter and emulated fun on the PSP, now that clever bastard Fanjita and pals have enabled such toys on later fir...
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netHomebrew on PSP 2.01 and 2.50 NOW! (27.1.2006, 17:21 UTC)
Legendary PSP hacker Fanjita has released his EBOOT loader for 2.01 and 2.50 Sony PSP’s, which allows users to run the majority of homebrew software out there. (Well, in time it will - the list of working software with the GTA eboot loader is still quite small, but growing) (via PSPUpdates)
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netNew UTV broadband products announced (27.1.2006, 13:48 UTC)
This interests me, as a long-time sufferer of UTV’s poxy 8GB traffic cap, which mars what is otherwise quite a good service. Full details of the new package can be seen here. The cap increases are fairly miserly (8GB to 12GB, and 16GB to 20GB), but they do offer an “unlimited” option for an extra €5.99 a month. I’m going with that, since I’m already paying an extra €32 this month for breaking my old 8GB cap by a measly 2GB. It’s not really unlimite...
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 1
Feckoff.netJesus Christ: The Musical! (24.1.2006, 15:14 UTC)
AAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! (Requires QuickTime)
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netTie Fighter revisited (23.1.2006, 20:46 UTC)
Several months ago I was looking for help getting ancient DOS game, TIE Fighter to work on Windows XP and modern hardware. I never had much success getting it to run in SVGA (woo!) mode - i.e. 640×480, until today. Back then I was using an ATI graphics card, which apparently no longer supports the ancient VESA graphics modes TIE Fighter uses. Now I have an nVidia 6800GT, and after some faffing about, it works flawlessly. I spent many, many hours on that game when I was about 13/14, and now ...
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 2
Feckoff.netHarder, better, faster, stronger (21.1.2006, 12:29 UTC)
I guess the DSL speed upgrades went ahead last night then… Downstream Upstream Line Status ADSL Link Speed 2048   kbps 256   kbps Up from my paltry 1Mb/128k. Now we wait for UTV to announce something about their download caps.
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netGreat Irish TV Blog (20.1.2006, 22:33 UTC)
TV is Crying - I came across a link to this site whilst reading an article on TCAL earlier. I’ve since added it to my favourites.
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netFrom email (19.1.2006, 14:17 UTC)
I love the silly shit that comes to me by email, its great!
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netSongTapper (17.1.2006, 09:35 UTC)
This is brilliant. Ever had a tune stuck in your head but you just couldn’t figure out what it was? Well, song tapper will let you tap it out with your spacebar and give a list of possible matches. Flash required.
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 2
Feckoff.netBell-end of the week: Mahmoud Ahmadinejad (16.1.2006, 00:22 UTC)
Mahmoud Ahmadinejad - that’s the president of Iran to you and me - is our latest bell-end of the week. He’s decided to hold a conference in Iran on the holocaust, which he described as “a myth”. This coming so soon after his recent nuclear chain-yanking earns him his first bell-end of the week award. I suspect its the first of many. Ahmadinejad also recently spoke about how Israel should be wiped off the map. Pleasant chap isn’t he?
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netInter firms hurling (15.1.2006, 23:24 UTC)
All Ireland final, today in Castlecomer: Glanbia 1-11 Molex 1-07 Woo!
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netJack Thompson attention whoring once again! (13.1.2006, 14:22 UTC)
Game Politics tells us of self-righteous media-whore lawyer and christian-right mouthpiece Jack Thompson’s latest outburst of indignation and outrage at soon-to-be-released game, “25 to Life”. Jacko claims that California law allows police to seize this game from shops without a warrant. Sig heil, Jack, you fuckwit.
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netBroadband speed increases (12.1.2006, 21:50 UTC)
Word (i.e. a post on the UTV newsgroups) has it that Eircom are upping the speed of wholesale broadband products on the 21st of January. The changes should be as follows: > 1m/128k goes to 2m/256k > 2m/128k goes to 3m/384k > 3m/256k goes to 4m/384k > 4m/256k goes to 5m/512k I’ll have some of that! UTV, you had better increase your smelly 8 gig cap, and maybe while you’re at it, drop the ridiculous per megabyte fees for going over it. Magnet charge 50c/gigabyte over the cap which is f...
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 2
Feckoff.netCloser… closer… (11.1.2006, 18:25 UTC)
New SATA hard disk arrived from Komplett today, bringing me another step closer to that magical 1TB number!
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 1
Feckoff.netGetting the maximum life out of your lithium-ion battery (11.1.2006, 10:58 UTC)
Battery University (heh) has a good guide to using lithion ion battery powered equipment (laptops especially) in such a way as to not trash your battery prematurely. The basic point seems to be that if you’re using a laptop on AC power for any extended period, take the battery out. Apparently long exposure to heat in a fully charged state is bad for Li-ion batteries.
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netCongrats, JP (10.1.2006, 16:19 UTC)
Congratulations on the new job - going to slip back into the student life in Carlow when you’re back, eh?!
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netPumps.ie (9.1.2006, 18:57 UTC)
Anyone who drives in Ireland should give this site a look. Its an online database of Irish petrol station prices, using Google maps to show you where everything is - very clever. All it needs is for more people to update the prices regularly and it could be a great resource for Irish drivers.
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 1
Feckoff.netGrand Theft Auto: Vatican City (7.1.2006, 16:24 UTC)
Apparently this has been around for a while, but as Charles Manson said in Family Guy: If I haven’t seen it, its new to me! Warning: If you are a Jesus freak, you won’t like this one little bit. If you have a sense of humour, you probably will.
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netThe TooCute blog (5.1.2006, 17:52 UTC)
Featuring the legendary Cat Helmet (or melon cat, as they put it) Link.
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netFuturama to make a comeback? (4.1.2006, 22:08 UTC)
Word has it that Fox are in talks with Matt Groening to do a Family Guy style revival of Futurama in the near future. Nice!
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 1
Feckoff.netGoatse Ring (3.1.2006, 20:30 UTC)
As seen over at TCAL. American online jewellers, Inspired Silver are offering this tasteful “contemporary version of the traditional Irish wedding ring” for only $24.95. A steal if ever I saw one! Goatse rides again! If you have never heard of Goatse, you don’t want to know. Trust me.
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netClassic Doom (3) (3.1.2006, 07:10 UTC)
Finally, I regret my purchase of Doom 3 slightly less now that the Classic Doom mod team have released their mod - the original Doom recreated in the Doom 3 engine. It is available for free to anyone who has a copy of Doom 3 and the patience to download it, at 160MB - here. I haven’t played it yet, so I hope its a little less fart-around-blind-in-the-dark like Doom 3 was. Update: I just played it. It rocks I think it is very true to the original Doom, although darker. Its far more fast p...
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netGoogle Zeitgeist 2005 released (1.1.2006, 22:50 UTC)
Google have released their yearly zeitgeist for the end of 2005, which as usual is packed with information on the world’s searching habits during the year. It makes some interesting reading.
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 1
Feckoff.netI’m back. (31.12.2005, 17:16 UTC)
You may have noticed that the site was down for an hour or so today. I was busy upgrading WordPress to the newly released version 2.0, and farting about reintroducing the old hacks and stuff I had made to the default theme. Its got some nice under the hood bells and whistles, but probably bugger all that you will notice just viewing the site. I particularly like the new WYSIWYG post editor and built in image uploading facility.
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
Feckoff.netScrubs and The Shield return to US screens (30.12.2005, 03:51 UTC)
Scrubs is returning for a fifth season to NBC in the US on January 3rd, after a lot of speculation about whether the fifth season would air at all. Nice one! No sign yet of season 4 coming to DVD anytime soon though. The Shield also returns earlier than expected for a fifth season a few days later on the 10th, on FX. I can’t wait! There’s a nice little trailer of the next episode on the FX site.
Link | Author: Steve | Clicks: 0
MetaRSS 0.92 Feed   RDF 1.0 Feed
Atom Feed
TechPHP5 Powered   PEAR Powered
Popoon Powered   Planet PHP Powered
ButtonsPOTB Button   POTB Button 2